Abstract & Sleek Outfit with Red Touches

Those garments that are basic but independent, meaning they can look great on their own without having to get lifted by other pieces, are essential in my closet (read: life). This outfit for example is buildt on two garments of this kind. We got a black top and a striped skirt. Sounds quite boring, doesn’t it? But thanks to the playful cuts of them both they combine into a nice look.

Though I could have matched the garments with white or black shoes and accessories, I decided to add some colour. To not disturb the sleekness and sophistication running through the outfit I chose this colour to be red, since red is a safe card when it comes to creating a classy outfit.

There’s one thing I really like to do when composing outfits in general. This is to tie the colour of my shoes to two other points in my outfit: the highest one and one in the middle. The highest one can be a hat, lipstick (as in this case), necklace etcetera and the middle one can be a handbag, nail polish (as in this case) or a belt etcetera. I feel like this really ties the look together and makes it look thought through. 

Top from Lindex, tube from GinaTricot, skirt & shoes from Primark, nail polish is ‘Pinotage Red’ from Apolosophy and lipstick is ‘Classic Red’ All Day Color Lip Lacquer.

A few PS’s: the lightning was a hell to photograph in so excuse me for the exposure, my dog Tyra is covering my feet in a number of photos but she wouldn’t go away and the bruises on my thighs are from carrying things at work so don’t worry about that. DS.

Stay original, gorgeous! xoxo

Leave a Reply

